The results of events and competitions held during Fieldays can be viewed below.

Fieldays Rural Catch

Rural Catch Golden Gumboot goes to Gumboot town local

Taihape, known as the Gumboot capital of the world, has become home to another gumboot, the Golden Gumboot, after local Mairi Whittle takes out Fieldays Rural Catch competition.

Mairi came out with top honours after a gruelling week of competitions for the eight Fieldays Rural Catch finalists who were tested on their knowledge and skills on quad bikes, chainsaws, health and wellbeing, fencing, artificial insemination, dog-handling, financials, cooking, tractors and fitness. The former rural bank manager is currently working as a shepherd on a 1,100ha beef and sheep farm east of Taipahe and will be heading back to celebrate and the make the most of the fantastic prize pool.

“Its been an amazing week! We had an awesome bunch of people involved and we did some great challenges. It’s been a busy week, but I’ve really enjoyed it.”

Fieldays Innovation Awards

Fieldays International Innovation Award

Fieldays International Innovation Award – UBCO

After conquering the dirt, UBCO are now taking on the road with the dual use 2×2. On road capability, meets off-road adventure – commute, work, and explore with no limitations.

Fieldays Launch NZ Award

Fieldays Launch NZ Award – Agricom / Ecotain environmental plantain

Ecotain is an environmentally functional plantain that uses four independent mechanisms to reduce nitrogen leaching from the urine patch, as well as being a high quality, winter active forage.

Fieldays Prototype Grassroots Award

Fieldays Prototype Grassroots Award – Acuris Systems

This prototype robot, autonomously navigates kiwifruit orchards while capturing highly accurate fruit data. This data is then analysed to provide growers with quality information and insights to their orchards performance.

Fieldays Prototype Established Award

Fieldays Prototype Established Award  – Pamu Farming New Zealand

Landcorp has just completed its second season of deer milking in partnership with the Peter and Sharon McIntyre.  Significant, world first research and intellectual property has been developed from behind the farm gate through to a finished RMP approved product which Pāmu Foods can now use to assess market demand and price tolerance.

Fieldays Prototype Highly Commended

Fieldays Prototype Highly Commended – Maraeroa C Incorporation.

Ginseng Berry Gin is a New Zealand first made from ginseng berries grown in wild natural conditions at Pureora. The gineng berry gin has subtle flavours and textures whilst also having some health benefits.

Fieldays Launch NZ Highly Commended

Fieldays Launch NZ Highly Commended –  Paysauce / Season app

Growers, managers, and contract pickers can ditch paperwork with the Season app – orchard supervisors collect timesheet and contract rate info and push it straight to payroll in seconds.

Sponsored award winners:

Sponsored award winners:

  • Young Innovator of the Year Award goes to: St Paul’s Gudgeon Guard
  • Vodafone Innovation Technology Award goes to: Halter
  • Locus Research Innovation Award goes to: T C Fence Systems
  • Sprout Global Growth Award goes to: Equilme
  • Origin Innovation IP goes to: Micropod
  • Crowe Horwath Agri Innovation Award goes to: Kelvin Thermo Dog
  • Tompkins Wake IP and Commercialisation Award goes to: Halter
  • Callaghan Innovation Partnership & Collaboration Award goes to: Holsim

No.8 Wire National Art Award Results

Canterbury’s Akky van der Velde took out the top prize for her work Outside the Square (pictured left). Outside the Square was one of 23 finalists in the running for the major prize of $7,000, with the judge, Andrew Clifford, praising van der Velde for “creating something magical with an economy of materials”.

Fiona Clark from Taranaki was the runner-up for her sculpture Bushtail Mammal 1837, while Auckland’s Bev Goodwin placed third for her workPlay Time. Each received $1,000 and $500 respectively.

This year’s President’s Choice Award, selected by Peter Carr, went to Sophie Prendergast of Auckland for Life Tree.

New Zealand Fencing Competition Results

Golden Pliers singles Championship by Wiremark
1st Tony Bouskill
2nd Jeff Joines
3rd Tim Stafford
4th Shane Bouskill
5th Matt Jones
6th Haydon Walton
7th Tony White
8th Cameron Beaven
WIREMARK Best Quality – Jeff Joines
First off the Line – The Nick Liefting Trophy – Tony Bouskill

Fieldays Silver Spades Doubles Champions
1st Shane Bouskill & Tony Bouskill
2nd Tim Stafford & Jeff Joines
3rd Dan Hunt & Daniel Kirk
4th Nigel Higgins & Craig Shortall
5th Jared Nicolson & Bernard Condon-Orr
6th Matt Jones & John Graham

Bill Schuler Final
1. Jared Nicholson
2. Martin Leveridge
3. Dan Kirk
4. Sam Burton
5. Troy Brooky
6. Nick Stanger

Best first year – Martin Leveridge
Best second year – Cameron Beaven

Fieldays Silver Staples
1st Fergus Smith & Angus Bennett – Smedley Station
2nd Jamie Arnold & Louis Twigg – Smedley Station
3rd Jordon Williams & Zac Reid – Otiwhiti Station
4th Proude & Jack Ellington – Waipaoa Station
5th Bradley Clement & Rhys Fyers – Otiwhiti Station
6th Pengelley & Du-toit – Waipaoa Station

Fieldays Schools Tractor Pull Results

The Fieldays Schools Tractor Pull encourages students to support each other to achieve something spectacular – how cool is it for the kids to be able to say they could pull a full-size tractor!

The three schools who will go through to the finals to compete against reigning champions Te Awamutu Primary School are Tauwhare, Te Kuiti and Gordonton primary schools.

Tractor Pull Results

Weight Adjusted Tractor Pull
1st – Kelvin Lillington
2nd – Mavy Singh

Brent Garrett Memorial for Sportmanship – Wally Sinton

Weight Transfer Tractor Pull
0 – 6.5 Tonne – Paul Mellow
6.5 – 8.5 Tonne – Carl Tiddy
8.5 -10 Tonne – William Green
10 -12 Tonne – Caleb Adamson
12 -15 Tonne – Michael Austin

Overall Winner of Weight Transfer Competition – Michael Austin
1st Time Entrant – William Green

Pre 85 Weight Transfer
0 – 6 tonnes – David Rogers
6 – 9 tonnes – Jordan Sinton

Overall Pre 85 – David Rogers

Over 4 tonnes – Brendan Reymer
Under 4 tonnes – Wally Sinton
Overall Modified – Wally Sinton